New York rocks

We are in downtown New York. We have been here several times before and know Manhattan pretty well.

We are discussing our plans for the day while enjoying a caramel macchiato in one of the zillions of Starbucks cafés that help keep New Yorkers awake.

“Let’s see, what will it be this afternoon?” I ask. “We could take some pics from the top of the Empire State Building!” “Again?” says Anouk.

New York rocks

“Skating in Central Park?” I suggest.

“Done that!” Anouk replies.

“Check out the Bronx?” I try.

“Hmmm, maybe not,” is the answer.

“A helicopter flight…?” I persist. Anouk is having one of her attacks of ‘been there, done that’ and rolls her eyes at every suggestion.

“We are in one of the world’s most switched-on cities,” I say. “Why don’t you come up with something.”

Anouk decides to order another coffee while I try to breathe calmly and empty my mind. When she comes back, she has a big smile on her face!

“I’ve got it,”she says. “I picked up a leaflet from TKTS ticket sellers.Why don’t we go to a Broadway show? New York is the capital of live entertainment.”

“Well, I don’t know,” I lie, while secretly thinking it is a great idea.

“What show is on?”

“In an hour, we can go and see Billy Elliott,” she says. “No, too girly,” I say.

“Priscilla, Queen of the Desert?” she asks. “No, too Australian,” I say.

She didn’t make it easy on me and I’m not going to make it easy on her.

“The Lion King?” Anouk persists. “Mmm, no, too childish,” I reply.

“Pfff,” Anouk sighs, “Do you want to stay in this Starbucks all day? Come on, I’ll look off-Broadway; maybe we can find something cooler there.

What would you like to see?”

“I don’t know, something that really rocks,” I say.

Anouk scans the leaflet and then her eyes light up. “Here’s the perfect show, Rock of Ages. What do you think?”

“Cool,” I smile. “Let’s rock!”

