Berlin – Checking in

Our train slides smoothly into the Hauptbahnhof. “The largest interchange in the world,” I read on Wikipedia. “An unprecedented technological masterpiece.”

Anouk doesn’t really seem to care, as she exits the train without answering.

“321 metres long and 210 metres wide!” I call after her.

Berlin - Checking in - Around the World in 80 Brands

Berlin – Checking in – Around the World in 80 Brands

I get my camera out of my bag and take some pictures, of the sunlight shining through the roof onto the trains. I focus on the passenger flow and push the shutter. Anouk is already at the top of the stairs, looking at me impatiently. I know this look. It appears most of the time when I’m taking pictures of important things like a roof construction or a speeding train.

“I am really craving a coffee at the Adlon Hotel!” she says.

“The weather is nice so let’s walk to the hotel, check in and head for the coffee bar.”

We walk along the river Spree in the direction of the Brandenburger Tor.

When we reach the Reichstag, I see the sunlight reflected in the dome that was constructed after the reunion of East and West Germany. Its transparency is a metaphor for the functioning of democracy, I read on my smartphone.

“Shall we have a glance inside and take some pictures of the dome and the sun reflected in the glass panels?” I propose.

Anouk agrees, albeit reluctantly. Once we are inside, I start recording the best angles and perspectives I can find in order to show to full advantage both the old and new architectural styles.

A few minutes later, Anouk shows up telling me that she is going to get some info at the entrance.

“Sure,” I say, “I’ll take some more pics of the silhouettes of the people walking in the dome.”

Twenty minutes later I take, what is probably shot number 100 of the Reichstag. “I must have covered every angle now,” I think to myself. “But, where is Anouk?” I walk to the entrance but she is nowhere to be seen.

“I’ll just wait here for her, she will probably show up any moment now,” I say to myself.

“In the meantime I can check in on Foursquare and post a picture of the dome.” I take out my phone and open my Foursquare app.

“Hey, Anouk also checked in on Foursquare: ‘Having a café latte at the Adlon, ready for some serious shopping on Unter den Linden’.”

Leave a Reply

